Hinckley AFC 4-0 Coventry United

Hinckley AFC 4-0 Coventry United

Hinckley AFC progressed to the next round of the Polymac Packaging League Cup with a 4-0 win over league rivals Coventry United.

Carl Abbott’s side avenged the league defeat by the same opponents back in August, and they were set on their way by two first half goals from Jordan Nadat.

After the interval, their tally was added to by Marco Adaggio and Deqwon Ebanks as Hinckley comfortably advanced to the next round.

Hinckley made six changes to the side that beat Redditch on Saturday, but were still dominant throughout, and after Liam Smith and Nathan Walker both failed to test United ‘keeper Joe Connor, Nadat clinically finished from eight yards to give his side the lead.

The slender advantage was maintained only thanks to Alex Morris’ last ditch tackle that denied the visitors, but was added to on the half hour. Javia Roberts’ blistering pace caused problems all evening, and it was from his unselfish play that Nadat converted his second from close range.

Before half time, Morris twice headed wide from corners as Hinckley looked to put the game out of sight.

They were nearly made to pay for the missed chances just seconds after the interval, but Leon Kelly was denied well by Jack Hartopp in a one on one situation.

Then, Smith missed a golden chance to make it three, before Adaggio did what Smith couldn’t and rose highest to glance home Luke Richards’ corner.

Sean Williams was one of three Hinckley substitutes introduced on the hour, and after striking the crossbar with a volley, he was hauled down by Coventry defender Edmund Okolie, who was dismissed for a second bookable offence.

The other two substitutes then combined to round off the scoring. Debutant Elikem Amenku threaded a fine through ball to Ebanks, who coolly slotted home to open his competitive account for the club and complete a steady performance from Abbott’s men.

Hinckley: Jack Hartopp, Jamie Newton, Liam Smith, Kristian Ramsey-Dickson, Alex Morris, Jean Kalenda, Javia Roberts, Nathan Walker (Sean Williams 60), Jordan Nadat (Deqwon Ebanks 60), Marco Adaggio (Elikem Amenku 60), Luke Richards. Subs not used: Mitchell Tomlinson, Rico Taylor.

Goals: Jordan Nadat (11, 31), Marco Adaggio (57), Deqwon Ebanks (70).

Coventry: Joe Connor, Scott Broadbent, Ben Tennant, Omar Diallo (Hosein Khorrami 58), Edmund Okolie, Nathan Stoute, Khamisi Lightbourne (Scott Lindley 70), Luke Street, Leon Kelly, Muziwandile Nduna, Kiam Galdins. Subs not used: Benjamin Adeeko, Brian Ndlovu.

Attendance: 117