Uttoxeter Town 0-0 Hinckley AFC

Hinckley AFC played out their first ever goalless draw in the league as neither AFC or Uttoxeter Town could break the deadlock at Oldfields.


After 167 consecutive league matches where AFC fans had seen a goal scored, neither could fine the elusive goal as both had to settle for a point.


Jordan Wilson had the visitors’ best chance late on, but it was to no avail as Hinckley recorded their fifth league draw of the campaign.


Manager James Jepson called for continuity in the playing squad pre-match, and wants to build with the same personnel moving forward. He welcomed back Sam Belcher for the trip to Staffordshire, while George Warren returned in goal and Nkosi Mzungwana came in on the wing.


In truth, the home side had the better chances to break the deadlock and Warren was the busier of the two goalkeepers, making a trio of impressive first half saves to keep the scores level.


He kept out James Curley, one of the league’s most potent strikers with ten goals already, twice and Jono Atherton once.


Jake Avery also struck the bar as Hinckley narrowly held on but made it to the break unscathed.


Hinckley’s best chance of the half, meanwhile, came through Wilson whose fiercely struck effort was well blocked by a flying defender.


And the visitors’ defensive rearguard continued to thwart Uttoxeter after the break, with the home side coming closest as Avery hit the woodwork again, this time striking the post.


But it was Hinckley who nearly snatched the win late on. Wilson was sent through on goal and looked as though he’d win it for the visitors, but ‘keeper Jack Tolley denied him one on one.


The rebound fell to Belcher, but the ball came at the midfielder quickly and he could only stab wide.


AFC are back in action and seeking a return to winning ways with Tuesday evening’s visit to Brocton.


Uttoxeter: Jack Tolley, Dan Harper, George Woodruffe, Craig Swinfield, Doug Price, Jack Hassell, Jake Avery, Jack Derbyshire, James Curley, Jono Atherton, Ollie Ritchie. Substitutes: Louis Sherwin, Aaron Landells, Joel Dyche, Mikey Allen


Hinckley: George Warren, Cameron Gilchrist, Chris Hollist, James Jepson, Joe McLaughlin, Jason Lee, Louis Hamilton, Sam Belcher, Jean Dakouri, Jordan Wilson, Nkosi Mzungwana (Ollie Hart 62). Subs not used: Chad Timson, Thabang Dube


Attendance: 116

, , ,

Leave a Reply